Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

So, in keeping with my music theme along with soaking in the “spirit” of the holidays, I thought I would share the leaps and bounds I’ve made in learning about love this week.  Unlike my other posts, this is a very last minute, spur of the moment, fly by the seat of your pants type entry.  I like to mix it up… 😉

I think this is a lesson I’ve learned multiple times because for some reason it needs to be felt at frequent intervals.  When you reach the kind of love I’m talking about, you’ll understand.  It can be for friends, family, lovers, anyone.  It’s the moment you realize that you can put and must put yourself aside.  That you find more joy in tending to someone else’s needs than your own.  I’ve experienced this many times with friends I care a lot about.  I’ve felt it in relationships.  And I felt it again throughout this week.  Deeply.  Utterly.

It’s amazing when you can turn yourself around from the complete hot mess you feel that you are most of the time and provide a solid base, wall, or shoulder for someone else to lean on.  It’s not about patting myself on the back and saying “I did a good thing.”  It’s about genuinely caring and loving someone so much or in such a way that you CARE about their happiness and you would do practically ANYTHING to remove their grief, their pain, their confusion, their dispiritedness.

The other incredible and new feeling is that this now (unlike in the past) does NOT come from a place where I have the desire to FIX people or their problems.  I cannot explain the difference…I see the innate beauty in my friends and harbor the confidence that they may temporarily lack – I know they will be fine because they are stronger than they realize.  Ever notice that?  People around us sometimes see us so much clearer than we see ourselves.

And now on to the music bit.  Here is the chorus from one of my favorite songs by Rascal Flatts called “My Wish”.  I dedicate this to those special someones that I love…

“…My wish, for you, is that this life becomes all that you want it to,
Your dreams stay big, and your worries stay small,
You never need to carry more than you can hold,
And while you’re out there getting where you’re getting to,
I hope you know somebody loves you, and wants the same things too,
Yeah, this, is my wish…”

